Planning the escape

About Miss Q

I am a travel obsessed foodie, with an inexplicable love of clamato, elvis costello & the unknown
This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Planning the escape

  1. Wendy says:

    Sooooo excited for you! Go get LIFE!

  2. Wave says:

    Sounds great! Can’t wait to hear about it all and maybe even point you at a few neat places/sights. Have fun…

    Wave

  3. Lisa says:

    You are in for the time of your life! A couple of years ago, I was in a similar place as you. At 44 years old, I had the career, the house, the stuff to go in the house… but something was missing. My sister and I planned a 3 week trip that grew into a 6-week adventure to Thailand and Cambodia. After that, I was hooked and I had to go back for more.

    Packing everything up and hitting the road in South East Asia for 5-6 months was more or less understood by my New Zealand-based family (who are used to the kiwi travelling culture), but my US-based family just didn’t get it, and I am sure that I was considered to be irresponsible. But then the supportive emails starting arriving while I was on the road.. and I think ultimately they were just a little bit envious that I had actually had the gumption to do it.

    Now, as a 47 year old, I eagerly away my next planned solo trips – to NE Thailand and Laos next year, and to Borneo and Indonesia after that. It’s so liberating once you get into that mindset that you CAN do it. You just need to restructure your life a bit, set your priorities and away you go!

    I look forward to reading about your adventures!

    Lisa
    New Zealand

  4. exacto says:

    Suzie Q,

    You had me at the picture of the Bintang bottle! Looking forward to hearing about your escape and adventure both here and on Travelfish. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

