I’m back!

As you may have noticed, or not, I have been off the grid. Taking a holiday of sorts. Some of you have missed my updates & for those of you who think this is mindless drivel, well, you have probably welcomed the break.

To catch you up to speed, after I left KL, I headed north to Penang, foodie capitol of Malaysia. Unfortunately, I was sick as a dog & spent 3 days confined to bed. Not a blogworthy episode. trust me.

I moved onto the Perhentians, which are lovely, but sleepy islands on the east coast of Malaysia. I spent my days like this: breakfast. dive. lunch. dive. shower. nap. eat. sleep. repeat. Again, not particularly blog worthy .

Then I got sidetracked & on a whim (the beauty of long term travel) hopped on a plane & headed back to Indonesia. My favorite place on earth. I met up with a friend & spent 17 days diving, eating, and generally laying around. NOT. BLOG. WORTHY.

But now I am back on the adventure trail in Kota Kinabalu in Malaysian Borneo. I plan to to some jungle trekking, river cruising, orangutan gazing & yes, more diving.

Local Boat

Leaving Nusa Lembongan, Bali was a bit of a problem. All the “fast boats” were full so we were relegated to the local boat. No problem I thought when i saw it. I mean, so what if I am squeezed between chickens & watermelons. But imagine my surprise when the above Local boat was not the local boat i was riding, it was this lovely little gem.

my local boat. 12 of us squeezed onto to this

lunch at beachside warang

I spent a lot of time looking like this

and this

 

And i saw lots of these

Lots of time was spent here

my private beach on Perhentian Besar

water baby

Another favorite hangout

Pepes! this little package was filled with fish,lemon grass, garlic & chilies. Yummy!

 

 

it may not look like much, but it was my favorite place on earth. yep. planet earth.

View from my Bungalow in Ubud, bali

Magical bali

So there you have it folks, my last month in a nutshell.

 

But before i go I just have to say: WTF Iowa? Michelle Bachmann, REALLY?

About Miss Q

I am a travel obsessed foodie, with an inexplicable love of clamato, elvis costello & the unknown
This entry was posted in Bali, indonesia. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I’m back!

  1. Jenny says:

    Glad to have you back! Sounds wonderful except for the sick part. 12 on that boat? Did you just stand on the railings or something? How far did you have to go in it?

    • Miss Q says:

      Jenny, there were narrow benches along each side. we sat facing each other, knees interlocked. for 1.5 hours!. I was lucky to be near the front so i had a bit of shade which the others did not. we had a good laugh.

  2. kesel2228 says:

    Gotta say, I’m loving your posts– and seeing the world vicariously through you! I’m sure Myrna would love Bali– we’ve talked about it before, and you make it sound like heaven on earth!
    And don’t get me started on Michelle Bachmann….

  3. Charlene McCreight says:

    I do love your posts…..glad your feeling better. I am inpatient again at OHSU and showed a few nurses who know you your recent photos. They loved seeing them.
    Charlene

  4. Debi says:

    Sounds like a vacation from vacationing…all that hard work. Envious as hell! –Debi

  5. Karine says:

    You look good on that pics in the sea nearby your private beach…………hum reminds me of MY private beach ;o))
    Karine

  6. dianne says:

    stumbled upon your blog while researching places to go and things to do in bali. i’m going in february for just three days. i was thinking of going to gili meno but am worried it would eat up too much time just to get there and back. i read about nusa lembongan in your post and thought that would be a nice alternative. i’m from the philippines so i’m kinda particular about beaches. i’m all about the crystal clear water and powdery sand. which beach in bali would you say offers that? πŸ™‚

    • Miss Q says:

      hi there
      happy to know someone other than my mother is reading my blog! If it is white sand & blue water you want, you will definitely want to head to the Gili’s. I loved nusa Lembongan but the beaches are “working beaches” meaning there are lots of fishing boats, seaweed harvesting & a fair bit of trash. It’s great for diving, but not so great for snorkeling from the beach or hanging out beach side. The gili’s are relatively easy to get to without much effort. you can get a fast boat from padangbai, which is about an hour from Ubud, Sanur or the airport. The boat takes about 90 minutes to reach Gili T & a little less to Meno or air. You should know that men has very little in the way of tourist facilities, so if it’s peace & quiet you are after, then that is your place! but there are NO ATMs & very few if any guest houses take credit cards. so bring lots of cash. Gili T has the party island reputation, but if you head to the north side of the island it is very quiet. It’s about a 20-30 minute walk to “central” where there are shops, bars, ATMs & restaurants and about a million drunk foreigners πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

