One year on the road: What I know so far

I can hardly believe a year has passed since i left Portland & set out for the great beyond. I know that some of you (dad) thought this would be a one way journey to slackerville, and while I admit i have spent a fair amount of time on the beach, this has been an experience of a lifetime (yes, i do know that’s a cliche). I feel grateful & privileged. EVERY. SINGLE. DAY.

Here are a few things i know…….. so far

I road is filled with joy, wonder, heartache, great food, boredom, great people, crappy western food & bad cheese, loneliness & awe.

I am more resourceful, patient, resilient & stronger than I ever imagined.

Among other things, long term travel erodes attachments to values such as punctuality, predictability & personal space. get used to it or perish

have goats will travel

have goats will travel

Cotton Bandanas are really useful & cheap: sweat mop, napkin, bandage, washcloth, doggy bag & at the rate i lose them i can afford to replace them in every city.

When riding on a night bus In India, do not look out the window & resign yourself to the fact  that 1/2 ” is an acceptable margin between life & death

road trip!

Don’t lose you shit over something trivial: you will be the only one who looks & feels bad

When a taxi, tuk tuk or rickshaw quotes you a figure & says “local price” you can be sure it isn’t

A good dive buddy is worth their weight. I’m talking to you Roger Rice

me & RR in mabul

No matter how many I see, I still fear & loathe cockroaches

Sitting in a cafe, reading & watching the world go by, for hours on end, is ok.

By & large beer in SEA & India sucks. The exception is beer Lao

king of beers

Some things remain inexplicable

Really????

Sometimes all it takes is a strong cocktail to set the world back on it’s axis

manhattan & mai tai at the E & O in penang

Phuket is hell

The “bum gun” is a miraculous invention

getting this installed when i get home

When traveling, as in life, less is usually more

how did I accumulate so much crap? more importantly how do i get it to fit in one small pack?

Traveling with friends is  fun,too

ruth & stan on the night ferry from Koh Tao to mainland Thailand

GPM & WCT on the boat in the kerala backwaters

Douglas adams was right: all travelers need a towel

Traveling with an open heart & mind will yield unexpected & amazing rewards

Taxi drivers cannot read maps

Nude branches are cooler than sharks

see, cool ,right?

If you ask a “yes” or “no” question the answer will always be yes. Even if that isn’t the truth

Traveling solo is immensely rewarding. everyone should try it. at least once.

Mother India is madness & beauty

i called. They weren't interested in a mouthy American

women in saris in a temple

temple in Madurai, India

good advice

About Miss Q

I am a travel obsessed foodie, with an inexplicable love of clamato, elvis costello & the unknown
This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to One year on the road: What I know so far

  1. Laura says:

    Love it! Glad you are having such a great experience!

  2. Ok Ji Radda says:

    Chris Julhes sent me your travel news. Your travel pictures and comments are interesting and insightful. We have lived in SE Asia for many years so I feel good to see familiar things especially the bidet in a form of sprayer. It is really good and hygienic. I had it installed when we moved back to Portland. Happy and safe travels !

  3. Jenny says:

    Oh, and we have learned a lot too! Thank you for bravely traveling the world so I can enjoy it vicariously.

  4. paige says:

    suzanne! i love this post! so right on. you are right beer lao is your best option. and when is the bum gun going to make it to america? its about time!!! so many great insights!!! keep it real! xo pdw

  5. Tam Driscoll says:

    Wonderful recap! Your blog made me smile. Hi Suzanne, I’m a friend of Vicki Hartmann in PDX. I was asking her about Indonesia and if she’d traveled there before. She hadn’t but said you are have and shared your blog with me. I’m heading to Indonesia in June with my husband and 12 year old daughter (June 23 – July 15). We’ve traveled quite a bit but not to this region of the world. I am a RPCV having lived 2 years in West Africa (Sierra Leone) so am hoping to tap into some contacts while SEA. Our plan is to head to Flores, cover that island then to Komodo and Rinkan. I would love to hope a live aboard but not sure. We will then go over to Bali, cover Ubud then to Amed where we have a place for a week (only secured lodging we have) The rest is going to be by the seat of our pants. We’ll fly out of Jakarta then home. Still working on tickets so this may change. Any adivse, input, words to live by (which I have read – thank you). Anything would be appreciated! Safe travels!

    Tam (geotam@msn.com)

Leave a Reply

